Poem: Bare Knuckle Chalkboard Punches

This poem is for anyone who has ever been a teacher or been taught, who has ever been through the American education system and emerged alive. This poem is for you. Enjoy.

I read this poem last Wednesday at Sit-a-Spell Cafe which is located on Broad Street in Augusta. They hold an open mic every other Wednesday. and soon, I’ll be MC-ing. More on that later! For now, I hope you enjoy my work. Still working on getting an agent for my novel and publishing that book of poetry.

All of that news is uber exciting! I hope you enjoy the poem; please comment below.

Sometimes, I get very passionate while reading.

About derekberry

I am a writer promoting my first book "In Lickskillet." I blog, write poetry, and write fiction. I also write for Augusta's Verge magazine which you can find at many downtown vendors in the CSRA.

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Blogging, chill, dreams, Education, Poems, Poetry, publishing, Self Publishing, writer, Writing, Young Poets for Change and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,444 other followers

