V-Neck Thursday

A couple weeks ago, I began V-neck Thursday, and now it is a bona-fide phenomenon. Not just at Aiken High, but South Aiken too. Even coffee baristas and the ladies at the Aiken High office seem to have caught on to the trend. Now, however, it is summer. Though I told myself I needed to take some time off of V-neck Thursday, I felt too scrupulous not pull on a trusty v-neck when I woke this morning.

Over the summer, however, don’t feel obligated to lug the v-neck albatross. I will, but I’m me. I’m the founder of this glorious day. Next school year, I hope we return stronger than ever. Also, I’ve been brainstorming ideas for new days… because of the success of V-neck Thursday, I supposed we could implement the following days!

Moccasin Monday

Lederhosen Tuesday

Bolo-tie Wednesday

V-neck Thursday

Fedora Friday

Sombrero Saturday

Burka Sunday

How does that weekly wardrobe sound? I think we could really make some of these work. In no way does this plan ring ridiculous to mine ears. to thine ears? A melodious plan for fashion domination.

Quote of the day: “I wasn’t sure if her name was legally Pepper or if it was a nickname referring to her vibrant red hair and scattering of freckles on her face. Everything about her suggested spiciness. And not in the Vogue sort of way, but in the way gives-you-gas sort of way.”

Wear your fedoras tomorrow!!

About Derek Berry

Derek Berry is a novelist and spoken word poet. Derek is the author of Heathens and Liars of Lickskillet County (PRA Publishing, 2016). He co-founded and organizes The Unspoken Word, a literary non-profit based out of Charleston, SC, which provides an intendent home for the poetic arts through regular readings, workshops, and community fundraisers. He is on the Executive Board of the Charleston Poetry Festival, the inaugural production of which will be Fall 2017. His work has appeared in The Southern Tablet, Cattywampus, Charleston Currents, Illuminations, RiverSedge, and other journals.He has performed in venues across the United States and Germany. He has worked as a photographer’s assistant, busboy, and bookseller. He currently works at a curation facility for Cold War History.

Posted on June 10, 2011, in Controversy, Cool Posts, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Smile! Blue suites you, although the plunge on that vee is pretty deep…

    Quirky and great post!

  2. I feel that is among the most vital info for me. And i am satisfied reading your article. However should statement on some normal issues, The web site style is ideal, the articles is actually great :D. Excellent process, cheers.

Leave a Reply

