Bar Napkin Poem

I wrote this on a bar napkin.

The urinal trough found

in most karaoke club lavatories

is not an appropriate place for polite small talk

or reunions with high school alumni

peers from the golden years

who insist on embracing you

from behind, mid-piss

It also does not seem the place

where I might be inspired

to say something poetic

yet haikus and scribbles

swallow the wall space

Such poetic lines read:

Here one day I sat

sad and broken-hearted

tried and tried and could not shat

I only merely farted

And though I applaud the artistic ingenuity

of the artists who urniated here before me,

Sharpie gripped in in hand, genitals in the other

Maybe I too can be inspired

to leave my mark

I only need to redirect my aim

and splatter a little on the floor

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Poems, Poetry, Random, Teenagers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

