Don’t Bite the Hand That Gives You Loads of Money

Now, I’m aware that a lot of publishing companies practice some crazy principles and are habitually slow and outdate. Which is why I’d prefer to be picked up by an indie group (also because the content of my book might be highly inappropriate for the majority of the reading public).

But this one guy, Sebastian Marshall, may have crossed a line. Read his rant here: http://www.sebastianmarshall.com/an-open-letter-to-simon-and-schuester-ceo-carolyn-reidy

Basically, this guy badly bad-mouthed Simon and Schuster. Seriously, read this. It gives a grisly insight into all of the dirty going-ons at big publishers, but also… it probably lost Sebastian Marshall a job. But maybe he’ll get famous for going out with a middle finger. Only time will tell.

What do you make of this?

Would you ever give your boss the “F” off and then blog about it?

Mind you, his advance was 65,000, about 50,000 more than a normal advance.

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on November 17, 2011, in agent, books, Controversy, Poetry, publishing, Random, Word Salad, writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I don’t think it’s ever wise to speak in anger, especially in the written form. People may feel they they “deserve” something because they are special, but I don’t believe in such things. Being arrogant gets you lonely. It’s sad and shameful in my opinion that people feel justified in ranting. What happened to civility and dignity?

    But I’m kind of old fashioned. My son thinks I was born a couple of centuries too late. ;|

    • Yes. I’m not sure how I feel. Read his blog, though. They did really screw him over. Still, I might not rant about it on the internet.
      I’d prefer to confront that person directly.

      • theafricanblogger

        Perhaps there was a method to his madness (excuse the cliche). It seems like he was often ignored and put down, and he must have thought that speaking to the person directly would be futile. She could easily brush him aside.

        At least on the internet it not only grabs her attention, it affects a lot of people and could have been a catalyst to bringing about the change he wanted. Maybe not with his publishing firm, but perhaps in others.

        Also, being a writer, wouldn’t it make sense for him to write about it? Surely, it’s what he’s most comfortable with.

        Personally though, I find the internet far too unpredictable and risky. But that’s just me.

      • If so, it is a really good marketing plan. That or just a terrible idea. I suppose we’ll see how it pans out for him.

  2. Note that he did this *after* he just signed a lucrative business deal.

  3. theafricanblogger

    I like you, Derek Berry. You seem like a very interesting person.

Leave a Reply

