NANOWRIMO comes to an end

Today is the final day of NANOWRIMO, the month-long challenge to pen a novel. While I didn’t participate, I had loads of fun cheering others on and such. Did you meet your goals? Tell me if your did.

If you’d like, tell me what your novel is about. I’d love to help. And now that you’re done, check out my posts of querying… you know, after you revise heavily. Again and again and again and again and did I mention revise?

About Derek Berry

Derek Berry is a novelist and spoken word poet. Derek is the author of Heathens and Liars of Lickskillet County (PRA Publishing, 2016). He co-founded and organizes The Unspoken Word, a literary non-profit based out of Charleston, SC, which provides an intendent home for the poetic arts through regular readings, workshops, and community fundraisers. He is on the Executive Board of the Charleston Poetry Festival, the inaugural production of which will be Fall 2017. His work has appeared in The Southern Tablet, Cattywampus, Charleston Currents, Illuminations, RiverSedge, and other journals.He has performed in venues across the United States and Germany. He has worked as a photographer’s assistant, busboy, and bookseller. He currently works at a curation facility for Cold War History.

Posted on December 1, 2011, in books, Random, Self Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I did it this year. I learned about it for the first time the day or so before Halloween. Sounded like a good idea. It was fun!

  2. Among your many talents, Derek, you can add Instigator of Budding Writers. 🙂

  3. I did participate, but, I didn’t meet the final goal. I did, however, finish half of my 2nd novel, so I’m happy about that. I, too, had fun cheering others on and it was fun watching two of my writer buddies compete with each other to see who was going to reach the 50,000 words first. They both reached their goal and more and both about the same time and the final stretch was an exciting finish. I’m glad I participated and will probably do so again next year.

Leave a Reply

