Lazy Exam Day News

If  you’re lamenting a great loss of Word Salad in your life, fear no more. All the tortuous exams are finally over. Well, most of them. Those exams test my ability to stay up into the wee hours of dawn, scanning the pages of biology, calculus, and psychology textbooks. Now, however that horridness has ended– that horridness called semester exams. And in two days, begins winter break.

What does that mean for you, dear readers?

Well, that means more of my time can be left to whispering sweet nothings into your ears. I can spend winter break create back-breaking, lung-coughing-ly hilarious posts about Mario Kart, English Christmas traditions, and tangelos. Not necessarily in that order.

I’m quite ecstatic to finally finish this semester of school. Christmas-morning ecstatic. I’ve-just-survived-a-tornado ecstatic. There are certain things too wicked to exist in this world. One of these most certainly, is Calculus. I’d rather apply a blowtorch to my tongue than derive another equation. I’d rather someone press bamboo sticks under my fingernails.

It’s over, though. It is over and I may breathe freely. *Breath of relief* Now, keep your eyes out for super fun posts in the near future. Also, next week I will be doing some more video poems, so yippee!

Besides writing an essay exam for my Literature class, I got to tangle with Christmas lights. I tried to pretend that I was Indiana Jones finally facing his fears by diving into the snake pit. Needless to say, I require a nice break.

Something else I’ll talk about: Choose Your Own Adventure Books. Why? Well, might it be because I want to do a “Choose Your Own Adventure” Blog where you pick where the story goes? Possibly. Not a bad idea, actually. Check in next week and read this interesting article about how that sort of book might experience a resurgence as a popular format: http://litreactor.com/columns/generation-active-what-can-video-games-tell-us-about-the-future-of-narratives.

Also, as long as I have your attention for this very random post, go watch this poem cause it’s pretty amazing. Seriously, this guy kills.

 

About Derek Berry

Derek Berry is a novelist and spoken word poet. Derek is the author of Heathens and Liars of Lickskillet County (PRA Publishing, 2016). He co-founded and organizes The Unspoken Word, a literary non-profit based out of Charleston, SC, which provides an intendent home for the poetic arts through regular readings, workshops, and community fundraisers. He is on the Executive Board of the Charleston Poetry Festival, the inaugural production of which will be Fall 2017. His work has appeared in The Southern Tablet, Cattywampus, Charleston Currents, Illuminations, RiverSedge, and other journals.He has performed in venues across the United States and Germany. He has worked as a photographer’s assistant, busboy, and bookseller. He currently works at a curation facility for Cold War History.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Education, Random, Word Salad, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oofta. I hear you on calculus. I took it as a summer course, headlong into the fray, two semesters in three months. I still don’t know how I passed.

  2. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  3. Happy you emerged from the text books in tact. Time for fun reading and writing! Hurrah! 🙂

  4. Congrats on living through it. I remember what those days were like.

Leave a Reply

