The Tablet Revolution

I’m writing this on the Nook tablet that I received from my awesome parents for Christmas. I felt very anxious about tablets for the longest time, wondering whether or not it would be worth owning one. Whether or not I could use it to write and read poetry.

The tablet does everything I’d like it to. I can write and edit files and even use it as a portable poetry archive. E-mail, Facebook, and Twitter apps make networking easier than ever. The tablet, however, may not completely replace my notebook which I can surreptitiously use during class, appearing as if I am taking notes. Also, I would regret forgoing the ability to translate beauty with ink.

Owning a tablet, however, makes a lot of things much easier. I always have a book on hand to read if I get blocked, I always have access to a hefty online dictionary and the best research material ever invented (the internet), and I can always jot down notes and character sketches no matter where I am.

This morning, I assured the ultimate greatness of the Tablet. As I sat before work sipping my pre-work coffee, I actively pretended to ignore that I was eavesdropping on the couple beside me. Here, everyone sits uncomfortably close, and because of this closeness, I could not write on my laptop. I began jotting down ideas and outlining on my Nook, which I can conceal. I feel strange writing while others are watching, though I usually enjoy the atmosphere of the coffee shop. And of course I enjoy coffee.

Normally, I sit, drink coffee, and work on my novel. Because of the awkwardness of penning new material before prying eyes, I usually take time to edit. And sitting in a warm place with coffee, refills only 25 cents– I can sit there all day. Today, the place bustled with unusual activity, as in every-table-is-occupied busy. So I began writing outside, but once I started making progress, I progressed inside to a newly vacant table next to Brad and Georgina.

At first I thought they were on a date, but it turns out they went to school together seven years ago. Turns out he is a fitness trainer from California obsessed with insane diets and strange trends. As he continuing talking, I realized that this materialistic, modern, crazy  guy would make a fun character. So I whipped out my Nook and started taking notes. I now have the makings of a very fun short story.

So, the tablet proved useful. I penned up an outline and no one knew any better.

Also, I downloaded the Angry Birds app and play it on the loo.

Another thing I received for Christmas was a pack of white v-neck undershirts which means now I can even sleep in v-necks. Literally no day goes v-neckless. It’s awesome.

Till next time.

About Derek Berry

Derek Berry is a novelist and spoken word poet. Derek is the author of Heathens and Liars of Lickskillet County (PRA Publishing, 2016). He co-founded and organizes The Unspoken Word, a literary non-profit based out of Charleston, SC, which provides an intendent home for the poetic arts through regular readings, workshops, and community fundraisers. He is on the Executive Board of the Charleston Poetry Festival, the inaugural production of which will be Fall 2017. His work has appeared in The Southern Tablet, Cattywampus, Charleston Currents, Illuminations, RiverSedge, and other journals.He has performed in venues across the United States and Germany. He has worked as a photographer’s assistant, busboy, and bookseller. He currently works at a curation facility for Cold War History.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Poetry, Video Games, Word Salad, writer, Writing, writing advice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I bought a nook touch a few hours ago – no clue what I am doing yet…but I’m sure I will 🙂

  2. “I also bought the angry birds app and played it on the loo.” <– hahahahhaa

  1. Pingback: The Importance of Carrying a Notebook « Word Salad

Leave a Reply

