Books Galore!

Having so many books you’re excited to read, you can’t choose which to read first, that’s not exactly a problem. Today was the annual AAUW book sale here in Aiken where I end up buying about twenty books or more for the price of a single book. One book I really wanted was A Dance with Dragons, the fifth installment in George R.R. Martin’s series. (I’m on book four, and once I finish the first four books, I will do an extensive review on that first half of the series and a singular review for A Dance with Dragons.

Just in case you’re unfamiliar with George R.R. Martin, watch this:

I bought a whole lotta books today, some of which I will review, some not. Some I have read before but did not own, and I loved the books so much, I just had to own them. That includes a few Ernest Hemingway classics and some Thomas Pynchon. Once I finish the fantasy series by Martin, I’ll finish reading The Flame Alphabet, which is a very intriguing book (only Martin is slightly more exciting, sorry). I will definitely be doing a review of that, the newest novel by author Ben Marcus.

Some of my stash includes books by Nick Horny, Joyce Carol Oates, T.C. Boyle, and Cormac McCarthy. I also picked up a few books on writing, just because I enjoy reading books on writing. One book I’m quite excited to read is On the Road by Kerouac.  For some reason, though I’ve read much of his poetry, I never picked up the book. But leave a book on my shelf for long enough and I am sure to read it.

Sometimes, I can’t describe how fan-boy-ish-ly excited I get for books. Like my fervor for any new Palahniuk book. I must go out that day to devour it. He’s just that good. This morning, I stood for a little over an hour in line to get in. Before doors opened for the book sale, the line was stretched around the block. Book sales turn me on like a Victoria Secret model turns Larry the Cable Guy on.

Walk into to this building, which once was a Belk. Tables and tables lined with books. Walls of books. Mountains of books. It takes hours to pick through them all. I stayed up last night drafting a list of everything I might want. Not much of a post, I know, but my excitement is so brimming, I can hardly write.

Time to get my reading on, folks.

About Derek Berry

Derek Berry is a novelist and spoken word poet. Derek is the author of Heathens and Liars of Lickskillet County (PRA Publishing, 2016). He co-founded and organizes The Unspoken Word, a literary non-profit based out of Charleston, SC, which provides an intendent home for the poetic arts through regular readings, workshops, and community fundraisers. He is on the Executive Board of the Charleston Poetry Festival, the inaugural production of which will be Fall 2017. His work has appeared in The Southern Tablet, Cattywampus, Charleston Currents, Illuminations, RiverSedge, and other journals.He has performed in venues across the United States and Germany. He has worked as a photographer’s assistant, busboy, and bookseller. He currently works at a curation facility for Cold War History.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in Blogging, books, Word Salad, writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

