The Hunger Games: Why I’m Stoked

Thursday night, fans will take to the streets to stand in line to see the midnight premiere of The Hunger Games, based on a popular book by Suzanne Collins. I am completely stoked for this movie, but I have put off talking about it because I feel like we’ve been inundated with talk about it. Here are some things I am looking for.

1.) Will The Hunger Games movie address the brutality of violence much the same as Collins did?

Collins certainly does not shy away from the grotesque details even in this young adult novel. But by turning these violent games into film form, is that not glamorizing death and gore and child-fighting? The first thing I thought when they said there would be a movie was, “Ooh, we get to watch kids kill each other.” Or will the movie focus more on the injustice of this rather than amp up the violence? I’m very interested in seeing how the director addresses this.

2.) Josh Hutcherson

While I will certainly watch Jennifer Lawrence who won an Academy Award, I’m more interested to see how Josh Hutcherson will peform in this movie. I have been watching his career since the dismal Cat in the Hat. But his performance in The Kids are Alright was fantastic. When he was cast as Peeta, my first thought was “perfect.” This guy is going to knock the performance out the park. He’s going to kill it. So, watch out for this kid’s performance.

3.) Suzanne Collins

Not to sound like a hipster, but I like Suzanne Collins before the whole Hunger Games craze. In fact, I got just as involved with her The Underland ChroniclesI am very happy she has received so much commercial success, because I want to see what she does next. If people really like The Hunger Games, maybe they’ll make a movie about giant rats, giant cockroaches, and Gregor!! Crossing my fingers.

4.) Scenes Removed or Added

I know a lot of readers, when seeing the movie adaptation of their favorite books, freak out when things are changed. I see these changes as sometimes very positive, because it allows the film to tell a slightly different story than the book does. Which means both can be consumed as separate entities, yet still enjoyed. But I think The Hunger Games will mostly stick very closely to the text, with the addition of perhaps one extra scene and the deletion and downplaying of a few characters.

5.) Lenny Kravitz as Cinna

Cinna was one of my favorite characters, and I was interested in what who would be cast. There are some casting decisions I found to be perfect: Tucci and Sutherland. But Lenny Kravitz seems like the most interesting choice.

He looks so cool. Love his music. If he is also a good actor, that’s a plus. We shall see what happens next Friday, when the movie is released.

6.) Haymitch

Definitely one of my favorite characters. Perhaps most people do not like Woody Harrelson, but I think he can both intense and very funny. Evidence: Zombieland and Friends with Benefits. I’m interested in watching him get drunk and embarrass himself.


See you on the 28th. The world will be watching.

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Characters, films, Hollywood, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so excited to see all of the actors in the movie. I think it was very well cast, and I especially look forward to Elizabeth Banks as Effie, and Josh Hutcherson as Peeta. Although I think, what I look forward to the most for the movie, is that it won’t particularly be from Katniss’s point of view. I had such a love-hate relationship with the story being written from her eyes, so it’ll definitely be interesting seeing it more from an ‘outside’ point of view. 🙂

  2. I’m excited too. I read the trilogy in less than 3 days. I usually don’t like when books are turned into film but I think I’ll feel differently while watching these. They are so action driven that I think it will translate well.

Leave a Reply

