Tuesday Musings: Pasta For Lunch

When I cook pasta

I always seem to throw the box away

Before I start cooking.

So I’m standing with a pot of boiling water, milk, and butter

But absolutely no instructions.

To stand in such a metaphorical lava pit,

that makes me long for better metaphors as

lava is too often used to describe red-hot situations.

Then maybe I can metaphorizize pasta as a nuclear bomb

needing to be disarmed in some B action movie

that I began watching on Hulu the other day but never finished.

So, here I face nuclear pasta,

possibly the most volatile of all pastas.

Just like in life, however,

I must do my best, pour in the ingredients, hoping for something edible,

Stirring occasionally.

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Humor, personal, Poems, Poetry, Random, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

