when the sea mangles my soul

When the sea mangles my soul

when I study its current nightly

I want to write poems

but the lines remain water-logged

watered-down versions of the truth, like the imprint of a wave

wet on the sand

long after the sea has retreated.

The memory of an idea persists

the feeling you’re missing something important

something painful as a missing tooth

I want to write poems

but all I can put down is the feeling that something important happened

that a portal opened and through it came a mental message-in-the-bottle

scribbled on the back of a receipt in a language I can’t read.

When the sea mangles my soul, I try to write poetry

but it never turns out right.

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on January 30, 2013, in Language, Poetry, writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

