Summer Publishing Haze

While summer serves as my one chance to sit down, breathe, and send out short stories to literary magazines, it also usually serves as a time for literary editors to take a break. I have been sending out short stories to various magazines that are still open, and 24 rejection letters later, I came to a realization I can’t actually publish short stories I’ve previously published on the blog. For that reason, I’ll be deleting the short stories I intend to send out.

Otherwise, I won’t be able to publish these stories. By the end of the day, I will have taken them down—sorry if you never got a chance to read them. Submerged and Memoir will continue to be on the blog, but Chicken Deluxe, Monster Theory, and Gartenswerg will be gone.

I have been working on various other short fiction pieces, which also face publication possibilities. Whenever I sniff the first inkling of success, I’ll be talking about it here on Word Salad. Until then, I will be working. I will be busy writing, editing, and submitting.

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on July 1, 2013, in Blogging, career, personal, publishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I thought Chicken Deluxe was great! Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks. I’m finishing the story tonight, actually. It’s unfortunate I won’t be posting the rest on Word Salad, but I want to move on to bigger things.

Leave a Reply

