Why Does the Entire Cast of “High School Musical” Go to my University?

1.186188As I passed through campus on the way to class,

I encountered a mob of frenzied students

in the throes of a musical number.

Each face stretched into song, arms angled toward sky

like a tuning fork attempting to channel thunder’s vibrations.

They danced a choreographed can-can,

legs pumping and kicking scissor-snaps.

They grab my hand, implore me to join in,

and I shrug, tired this early in the morning.

I cannot sing the song they each know every word to,

and if I tried to mimic their dances, I would end up

always half a beat behind, trying to blend in,

my face stretching into smile.

Who’s musical fantasy was this anyways,

that requires so many unwilling participants?

Two leather-jacketed lovers sway in the center of our spectacle,

spinning by themselves.

Oblivious to the circus elephants marching behind us, a plane flying in loops above us,

and the rain of confetti floating fast like a penny dropped from atop the Empire.

The lovers do not look to see if we’ve got the moves right.

They’re not even dancing at all.

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on September 16, 2014, in College, Poems, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

