Books Too Embarrassing To Read In Public

Dysfunctional Literacy

There's a book I'd never read in public, and I'm not going to put its image where somebody I know could associate the book with me. (image via Wikimedia) There’s a book I’d never read in public, and I’m not going to put its image where somebody I know could associate the book with me. (image via Wikimedia)

This week I got lectured at by a co-worker for reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn in public. It’s a long story, and I’ll tell it soon, but I’m embarrassed by something I did (it had nothing to do with reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn in public). But being criticized about it made me think about the books that I don’t want to be seen reading.

When I was in junior high, I had a copy of Massage Parlor II by Jennifer Sills. I probably shouldn’t have had it, but I did, and I read it during study hall in school. No teacher ever took it away from me. Study hall teachers seemed to only care if students talked, so if…

View original post 698 more words

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on June 13, 2015, in Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

