I am Somebody, Not Just Somebody’s

Incredible words from a fellow world traveler. I have some of the same anxieties about my return home. It’s weird to think you’re leaving and will own stories you cannot ever properly tell.

palmstotulips

I came home on Wednesday around midnight after a 22 hour travel day of seemingly good luck and Godspeed. Today is Sunday, not even a full week since I got back… And I’m struggling. Hard.

I knew coming home was going to be hard. I knew I would miss my beautiful international friends. I knew I would miss the freedom to do whatever I want and go wherever I want. I knew I would miss the childlike wonder that traveling brings. I knew I would miss the food, the sights, the culture, the constant moving and living and experiencing. I knew I would miss the cheap European travel. I knew all of these things. Study abroad blogs and websites and to-do lists have warned me this countless times.

They even warned me about the isolation I would feel, not being able to talk to people on a deep, relatable level…

View original post 785 more words

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on July 5, 2015, in Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

