Pilgrimage: Final Words on Tuebingen (or… An Attempt to Understand)

Woche-11-2010 (1)

I step out of the student secretary office into the sun and cross the street to the library in order to sit down and write my final thoughts on Tuebingen. I am leaving soon, spending the night at a friend’s flat before flying home tomorrow morning. As I pass across the street, I nearly stumble into The Naked Man.

The Naked Man stands in the park every day and has done so for the past few months, often half-naked. People say he’s crazy. He is a homeless man who dresses either in grass-streaked tidy-whities or a full suit. His favorite hobbies include snapping the branches off trees, assuming fighting stances, drinking beer, and laughing at strangers. He often walks toward strangers in order to laugh at them. That’s so strange, so unnverving.

When I bump into The Naked Man, he gives me a queer look, a cocktail mixture of anger and curiosity. And so I ask in German, “Hey, man, I’ve been watching you for some time now. Why do you do the things you do? I mean, it doesn’t make sense. You stand there and kick the air or talk with strangers? Why do you approach random groups of people to laugh at them?”

And that’s all I want to know, the underlying absurdity of his actions. A reason. A meaningful reason.

The Naked Man stares at me, his mouth breaking into a grin.

And he laughs. And laughs. And says nothing more.

About derekberry

Derek Berry is a novelist, poet, and student located in Charleston, SC.

Posted on July 30, 2015, in personal, Pilgrimage, Pilgrimage Vignettes, travel, writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wanting to know is the problem, not the naked man…
    Are you American?

Leave a Reply

